top of page
  • Yolohiking

Rainforest on a rainy day_Lamington National Park


First of all, I would like to say a BIG THANK YOU to all the workers who had helped clean up the damages in Lamington National Park left by ex-cyclone Debbie. Thank you for all your hard work to re-open the access into this nature's treasure. The work is still in progress while I was there last Sunday, despite the incredible work they have already done! At the moment, the speed limit for at least half of the Lamington National Park Road is down to 20km/h due to roadwork, but that really is more of benefits to you as you (the driver!) can have more time to enjoy the view while driving.


Roadwork Sign

Tips:

1. Most of the well defined tracks start near the O'reilly's Cafe one you reach the end of Lamington National Park Road.

2. The Cafe is a really good place to enjoy a group meal after your hike, the shop is at the front, if you go through the shop, you will find the cafe with the veranda overseeing the west side of the Lamington National Park, the view is amazing.

3. Even when it is hot, bring light jacket before you go, as this area is always cool. Especially when are you walking under the rainforest canopy. If it is raining, then bring a warm jacker or jumper, as you will feel cold if you are standing or sitting still.

4. Make sure to wear insect spray, especially around your ankle to avoid leeches and ticks, mainly leeches.


Boulder

After over a week of hot weather, finally we were blessed with some much needed rainfalls during the long weekend, which is a really good day for staying in bed. I mean who wants to go out on a rainy day, right? However, with the fiercely hot sun shied away and cool breezes coming from my bedside window, it seemed staying in bed would be such a waste of this blissful day. Then I remembered someone wrote that this would be the perfect weather to visit the rainforest, so that's how I found myself in Oreilly's and in awe of nature once again.


Raindrops on moss covered rock face

I always wondered as to why I love the forest so much, especially the rainforest. I just never seem to find myself sick of it, no matter how many times I go, even it is to re-visit the same trail again. As I was walking this Sunday, I realised that even if I'm walking the same trail, I always end up discovering something new, either a new tree that I've never seen before, or a new perspective of what I have seen before. As I become more aware of what draws my attention externally, I inherently discover more about myself internally. It kind of sounds like a self-development process at some point, but I think this is one of the reason why I love it. And of course, nature is so bloody beautiful!


Giant tree trunk

It was showering ever so slightly, while I was driving up the winding road to reach the O'Reilly's Cafe, and this weather condition has covered everything with a lightly opaque misty veil. As I was driving pass a what seemed like, at that point, an empty farm field, when all of a sudden, these giant ghostly trees appeared very close to my side of the car window so abruptly, that I hit my car brakes and stared at them blankly for a few seconds. It felt like I was dropped in a time warp and found myself in Medieval Times (how I always pictured what that time period would look like). Since I was on a road with no other cars around, I slowed down and enjoyed this little patch of wonder in my "time warp".


Rainforest in mist

Due to the roadworks, most of the Lamington National Park road was down to one way of traffic only, which has brought some difficulty in navigating, however, there wasn't much traffic because of the rain, which had made the trip quite enjoyable. The road goes through a un-fenced cattle farm, so you will encounter cows standing in the middle of the road (not moving) sometimes, so please drive carefully and reduce your speed. At some section enclosed by the rainforest canopy (you'll know what I mean once you have driven up there), the fog was so dense that I can literally see the beams of my car's front lights. And I remember myself thinking at that moment: Hah, finally, I have made it into another world!


Rainforest canopy

Over the past year since I started my hiking journey, the Fox Forest Trail and Tooloona Creek Trail have been mentioned to me all the time and I've said I would do them, as I've heard so many great things. Funny enough however, I somehow have done most of the other trails except them. I guess I'm saving the better ones later. I tried my best to contain my excitement as I headed towards the park's information centre, which is the start point of both of the tracks after I've parked my car, which I found quite easy to do that day as not many people were out in Lamington. Usually the top carpark is quite full due to the place being a favorite among travel companies. But I digress. These two trail are very well maintained, so it is very hard to get lost. You can also grab a trail map at the information centre which marks the entire trail to help you along. The first section of the trail actually overlaps with The Border Track, and then branches off it about half an hour into the track.


Border Track plaque

The entire track is very well marked, so make sure you follow the signs posted and you won't be lost. Fox Forest Trail is the mini-version of the Tooloona Creek Trail, it has three named waterfalls including Elabana and Box Forest Falls and it's about 10.6km return. If you are not so much of a fan for creek crossings and muddy trails, then I would recommend this track, as it still gives you a taste of the pristine rainforest teterrain. If you are adventurous, then the Tooloona Creek Circuit is highly worth a vist, please be aware, the entire track is about 18km, so make sure you have sufficient time to complete the full track. Insect repellent and good hiking shoes are must-haves for these two tracks, to keep leeches and tickes away, especially during wet season.


Sign post to follow

The rainforest absolutely comes alive when it rains, especially with all the birds and animals! During my drive up that morning, I saw a hopping hare and groups of little wallabies. I've never once seen a wallaby group this many, there must be at least 6 wallabies just nibbling on the green grasses while observing the passing traffic casually. I don't know much about birds, but most of us can tell the sound of Kookaburra when we hear one, and that day, among the misty forest, you can just hear them sing one after the other. I've also heard a bird call that sounded like either a cat or a crying baby, which I think they call it the Cat Bird. I was hearing nature's concert that day and thoroughly enjoyed myself!!


Misty forest

Not only does Lamington National Park known for its landscape, it is also famous for being the habitat for Lamington Spiny Crayfish and eels. During wet season between October to November, they can be found in or near creeks and waterfalls in the crest of the rainforest. They sometimes can be found walking the tracks, please don't try and handle them as they can be very aggresive and give you a painful snip. As our sunscreen and insect repellent can be really harmful to them, please hold your desire of swimming in one of the many tempting waterholes in Lamington.


Lamington Snipy Crayfish

I tried my best with this shot, with the murky water. You can see my reflection in the water as I hovered as close to it as I possibly could, in a weird body position, luckily there was no one around to see that. I took this shot at the Picnic Rock, which is a perfect place to have your lunch and enjoy the open view outside of the canopy. This is also the upsteam of Elabana Fall, so if you follow the trail on the other side of this rock, you will end up at the bottom of the fall. Before the road to the fall, I believe at the junction, there will be a sign-post directing you to either go left or downhill to Box Forest Trail or go right uphill to Tooloona Creek. Make sure you follow the correct trail. There are two directions that you can take for Box Forest Trail, I went anti-clockwise and went to Picnic Rock first. This way will allow you to see the Elanaba and Boxlog Falls first, but according to the signpost and other bloggers, the clockwise trail is easier on the legs.


Elabana Fall

Now, let's talk about chasing waterfalls!

If you went for Box Forest Circuit, you will see these beautiful rushing waters half enclosed by the tranquil creeper filled dark wet rock walls. I felt a sudden calmness washing over me and set myself free for a little enjoyable while. The photo above, is Elabana Fall, you would need to hop over and reach on top of a few small boulders to be able to experience this full view of the waterfall. Watching the water running so fast that its drops bouncing from rock to rock is such a great fun. If you head back and continue on the trail, you will reach Boxlog Fall shortly. There is another fall, which I didn't reach that day at the other half of the circuit, but I'm not it would be quite astonishing.


Foxlog Fall

If you chose Tooloona Creek Ciruit, then you are in a waterfall treat as there are so many of them, some are nameless, I lost count after a while. I also saw a lot more crayfishes enjoying the creeks on this trail compared to the Box Forest One. The below are just a few memorable ones, like Chalahn Falls and Tooloona Falls.



Chalahn Falls

Tooloona Falls

No matter where life takes you, always enjoy the scenery even when it gets tough! You only live once, YOLOHiking!

14 views
You Might Also Like:
bottom of page